Pre-Listing Home Inspections

Home/Pre-Listing Home Inspections
Pre-Listing Home Inspections2018-12-11T18:47:25+00:00

Home Sellers: Should You Get a Pre-Listing Home Inspection?

As a seller, a home inspection can reveal a lot about your home that you didn’t know. Depending on what the inspector uncovers, these findings can significantly affect the sale of the home. This is why it can prove beneficial to have a pre-listing home inspection performed prior to putting your home on the market.

There are three major advantages to a pre-listing home inspection:

Peace of mind

Selling your home is a stressful process, and some sellers don’t want to worry about a sale being derailed by something discovered during the buyer’s home inspection. Getting a pre-listing home inspection means that you know everything you need to know about your home before you put it up for sale. This also allows you to price your home more accurately, which minimizes the chance of negotiations.

Discovering potential deal-breakers

Finding out the actual condition of your home prior to the buyer’s inspection can be a huge advantage. If you have lived in your home long enough, you more than likely have gotten pretty used to some of its imperfections. While these details may feel like home to you, the buyer might not feel the same way.

A pre-listing home inspection will not only point out possibly overlooked flaws with your home, but also identify potentially unknown issues.  In the case of potential deal-breaking issues, a pre-listing inspection gives you the opportunity to proactively perform repairs prior to listing.

Simplifying the closing process

Buying a home is a major investment; the last thing a prospective buyer needs to feel is uncertainty, or that some issues are not being disclosed. Providing a detailed inspection report showing the current condition of the home upfront helps build trust and instill confidence in a buyer. All of this makes for a much smoother and faster close.

Schedule Your Home Inspection Today!

SCHEDULE YOUR INSPECTION

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Buying a house is already expensive. Why do I need a home inspection?2018-08-01T05:54:47+00:00

Buying a house is one of the largest purchases you will ever make. While a home may look perfect on the outside, there could be a lot of potentially expensive issues hiding under the surface that you need to know about before closing. Don’t leave anything to chance; get your home inspected.

The home I’m interested in is new construction. Do I still need to have it inspected?2018-08-01T05:55:02+00:00

Yes. Just because a home is new doesn’t mean it won’t have problems; it just means that someone hasn’t lived in it yet to discover any of its potential defects.

I’m thinking about selling my home. Should I have my home inspected before putting it on the market?2018-08-01T05:55:23+00:00

While it is not a requirement for you to have your home inspected prior to putting it up for sale, a pre-listing home inspection can be beneficial. It reveals the true state of your home and allows you to identify and repair potential deal-breakers prior to being discovered by the home buyer inspection.

When do I contact a home inspector?2018-08-01T07:16:29+00:00

Normally you would contact a home inspector after a purchase agreement has been signed. To protect your best interests, we highly recommend that you make sure there is an inspection contingency clause in the agreement prior to signing, specifying buyer and seller obligations after the completion and findings of an inspection.

How long does an inspection take?2018-08-01T07:16:44+00:00

On average, you should expect the inspection of a typical single-family home to last between 2-3 hours. For larger properties, it may take longer, and require an additional inspector onsite.

Can I be there during the inspection?2018-08-01T07:17:03+00:00

Absolutely! In fact, we encourage you to be there. As a prospective home buyer, the purpose of our inspection is not just to inspect the home, but to also educate the buyer and make sure you are the most informed about a property prior to moving forward with a purchase.

What type of report does the inspector provide?2018-08-01T07:18:04+00:00

Our inspector provides a comprehensive report in line with the InterNACHI Standards of Practice that identifies material defects of the components and systems of a home along with our recommendations for repairs. Usually, the full report is ready for you within 24 hours of the inspection! For a sample of our reporting, click here.

What if the inspector finds problems with the home?2018-08-01T07:18:34+00:00

No home, new or old, is going to be free of problems. However, not all problems require major fixes. Having a home inspection helps you identify possible issues before they potentially become bigger and costlier.

Can my home fail a home inspection?2018-08-01T07:20:03+00:00

No. A home inspection is not the same as an appraisal or municipal inspection. A home inspector reports on the physical condition of the home, and any possible material defects in need of repair or replacement. It’s not pass/fail; it’s just the facts.

Will you offer to do repairs based off your inspection?2018-08-01T07:21:04+00:00

In compliance with the InterNACHI Code of Ethics Article I, Section 11, we, as InterNACHI certified inspectors, are prohibited from performing or offering any repairs or related services to any home for which we have prepared a home inspection report for a period of 12 months. For any suggested repairs, we recommend consulting a specialist.

NEW & RETURNING CLIENTS

If you have any questions or require immediate assistance, our contact information is listed below.

SCHEDULE AN INSPECTION

OFFICE LINE

1.253.888.6326

OFFICE HOURS (M-F)

8:00am – 6:00pm

OFFICE LINE

1.253.888.6326

OFFICE HOURS (M-F)

8:00am – 6:00pm