Electrical Inspection

Home/Home Inspection/Electrical Inspection
Electrical Inspection2018-12-11T18:33:23-07:00

Your Home Inspection Includes: Electrical Inspection

Having your home’s electrical system inspected is not just a matter of saving money on potential repairs; it’s also a matter of safety. Faulty wiring, electrical failure, and various other issues can pose shock and fire hazards.

Your home inspector is not just going to check to make sure that your electrical panels and outlets are functioning, but also that all wiring, conductors, and receptacles are safe to use.

Electrical Inspection Points

One of your inspector’s initial inspection points will be the service drop and service entrance. The service drop is the point where the electrical wire from a utility pole connects to the service entrance (your home’s external electrical panels, wiring, meters, and conductors). This is your home’s main source of electricity from your electric company.

Your inspector is going to check that all meters are both functioning and grounded, identify the type of wiring used, and be on the lookout for any observable deficiencies in insulation or wiring.

Service height clearance is also important to note for both safety and functional reasons. The service mast (the conduit between the service drop and service entrance) must be in line with local residential regulations. For example, the service mast minimum height requirement for Seattle is 12’ above the ground.

The inspector will also identify the amperage of your circuit breaker or other service disconnect switch. These devices are normally located in a basement, a garage, or by the main service entrance meters. Your inspector will also be looking for any visible aluminum branch circuit wiring, a type of wiring that is prone to connection issues.

Your inspector will also check your outlets, switches, and light fixtures, checking that each is functioning optimally. This is especially important in the case of an outlet; improperly installed or malfunctioning outlets may present potential fire and shock hazards.

The last thing your inspector will check is for the presence of functioning smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. In accordance with Washington State laws RCW 48.48.140 and RCW 19.27.530, all homes are required to have present smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors installed.

Electrical Inspection Points

One of your inspector’s initial inspection points will be the service drop and service entrance. The service drop is the point where the electrical wire from a utility pole connects to the service entrance (your home’s external electrical panels, wiring, meters, and conductors). This is your home’s main source of electricity from your electric company.

Your inspector is going to check that all meters are both functioning and grounded, identify the type of wiring used, and be on the lookout for any observable deficiencies in insulation or wiring.

Service height clearance is also important to note for both safety and functional reasons. The service mast (the conduit between the service drop and service entrance) must be in line with local residential regulations. For example, the service mast minimum height requirement for Seattle is 12’ above the ground.

The inspector will also identify the amperage of your circuit breaker or other service disconnect switch. These devices are normally located in a basement, a garage, or by the main service entrance meters. Your inspector will also be looking for any visible aluminum branch circuit wiring, a type of wiring that is prone to connection issues.

Your inspector will also check your outlets, switches, and light fixtures, checking that each is functioning optimally. This is especially important in the case of an outlet; improperly installed or malfunctioning outlets may present potential fire and shock hazards.

The last thing your inspector will check is for the presence of functioning smoke and carbon monoxide detectors. In accordance with Washington State laws RCW 48.48.140 and RCW 19.27.530, all homes are required to have present smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors installed.

Schedule Your Home Inspection Today!

SCHEDULE YOUR INSPECTION

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Buying a house is already expensive. Why do I need a home inspection?2018-08-01T05:54:47-07:00

Buying a house is one of the largest purchases you will ever make. While a home may look perfect on the outside, there could be a lot of potentially expensive issues hiding under the surface that you need to know about before closing. Don’t leave anything to chance; get your home inspected.

The home I’m interested in is new construction. Do I still need to have it inspected?2018-08-01T05:55:02-07:00

Yes. Just because a home is new doesn’t mean it won’t have problems; it just means that someone hasn’t lived in it yet to discover any of its potential defects.

I’m thinking about selling my home. Should I have my home inspected before putting it on the market?2018-08-01T05:55:23-07:00

While it is not a requirement for you to have your home inspected prior to putting it up for sale, a pre-listing home inspection can be beneficial. It reveals the true state of your home and allows you to identify and repair potential deal-breakers prior to being discovered by the home buyer inspection.

When do I contact a home inspector?2018-08-01T07:16:29-07:00

Normally you would contact a home inspector after a purchase agreement has been signed. To protect your best interests, we highly recommend that you make sure there is an inspection contingency clause in the agreement prior to signing, specifying buyer and seller obligations after the completion and findings of an inspection.

How long does an inspection take?2018-08-01T07:16:44-07:00

On average, you should expect the inspection of a typical single-family home to last between 2-3 hours. For larger properties, it may take longer, and require an additional inspector onsite.

Can I be there during the inspection?2018-08-01T07:17:03-07:00

Absolutely! In fact, we encourage you to be there. As a prospective home buyer, the purpose of our inspection is not just to inspect the home, but to also educate the buyer and make sure you are the most informed about a property prior to moving forward with a purchase.

What type of report does the inspector provide?2018-08-01T07:18:04-07:00

Our inspector provides a comprehensive report in line with the InterNACHI Standards of Practice that identifies material defects of the components and systems of a home along with our recommendations for repairs. Usually, the full report is ready for you within 24 hours of the inspection! For a sample of our reporting, click here.

What if the inspector finds problems with the home?2018-08-01T07:18:34-07:00

No home, new or old, is going to be free of problems. However, not all problems require major fixes. Having a home inspection helps you identify possible issues before they potentially become bigger and costlier.

Can my home fail a home inspection?2018-08-01T07:20:03-07:00

No. A home inspection is not the same as an appraisal or municipal inspection. A home inspector reports on the physical condition of the home, and any possible material defects in need of repair or replacement. It’s not pass/fail; it’s just the facts.

Will you offer to do repairs based off your inspection?2018-08-01T07:21:04-07:00

In compliance with the InterNACHI Code of Ethics Article I, Section 11, we, as InterNACHI certified inspectors, are prohibited from performing or offering any repairs or related services to any home for which we have prepared a home inspection report for a period of 12 months. For any suggested repairs, we recommend consulting a specialist.

NEW & RETURNING CLIENTS

If you have any questions or require immediate assistance, our contact information is listed below.

SCHEDULE AN INSPECTION

OFFICE LINE

1.253.888.6326

OFFICE HOURS (M-F)

8:00am – 6:00pm

OFFICE LINE

1.253.888.6326

OFFICE HOURS (M-F)

8:00am – 6:00pm